After hearing the news that Demi and Ashton are divorcing, I couldn’t help but to reflect on relationships. Why do people cheat? The whole context of being in a relationship is to make each other happy and be there for one another no matter what. If you’re no longer happy with someone, leave them before you deeply hurt them by cheating. I never understood the whole concept of cheating, nor why people do it. I also just love how if a man cheats, it’s ok, but if a woman does, she’s a total whore, slut, skank, and a total disgrace. It makes me so angry.

I once asked one of my cousins (who has cheated numerous times on numerous girlfriends) why he cheated, and he told me: Because you want to have your cake and eat it too.

Really? No, I don’t accept that. If you’re going to cheat on someone by sleeping or massively flirting with someone else, LEAVE THEM. Yes, I count massive flirting as cheating. I guess we all have our own definition and limitations when it comes to cheating. In relationships, you must draw a line that cannot be crossed. If it were to be crossed, the relationship would be over, no questions asked. Make yourself be respected.

Another aspect that bothers me is that Demi and Ashton were married for 6 years. I know they say that nothing lasts forever…but if you were with someone for that long, why would you cheat? I suppose that no matter whom I talk to in life, I will never, EVER, understand why people cheat. They say monogamy is dead…but I know for a fact that there are a few couples out there who have lasted a lifetime. They are proof that through work and loving dedication, you can make something last a LIFETIME.

I end by saying that I am still extremely surprised that life changes week by week. Every week there is something new…another day another drama.

More later (there’s always more).

